Ranking the SEC’s Starting Quarterbacks


Slowly but surely, a league whose pecking order has long been defined by its defenses has also become the proving ground of some of the most high-profile quarterbacks in the country.

Half of the last six Heisman Trophy winners have been SEC signal-callers: Florida’s Tim Tebow (2007), Auburn’s Cam Newton (2010) and Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel (2012). In addition, Alabama’s AJ McCarron has guided Alabama to back-to-back national titles with efficient (and deceptively prolific) quarterback play of his own.

While defense still reigns supreme in the SEC, a game-breaking QB could end up proving the difference between a BCS berth and a middle-of-the-pack finish for the conference’s most starry-eyed teams. With that, we rank the SEC’s starting quarterbacks.

comments powered by Disqus
Engineered by War Against Work
Follow Lost Lettermen!