Newton Continues Heisman QB NFL Playoff Curse


With the Carolina Panthers’ 23-10 loss to the San Francisco 49ers on Sunday, QB Cam Newton continued a rather ignominious trend for Heisman Trophy-winning QBs.

Of those 17 Heisman Trophy winners since 1986 when Vinny Testaverde took him the stiff-armed statue, Tim Tebow is the only one to have won a playoff game (in 2012).

Is it a “Heisman Quarterback Curse” or just a small sample size? Of those aforementioned 17 Heisman-winning QBs since ‘86, Newton is just the fourth to even start a playoff game - joining Tebow, Robert Griffin III, Carson Palmer.


comments powered by Disqus
Engineered by War Against Work